369px-Florenca146

Why not write a letter to your front door? That’s what our members did in the Creative Writing Phone Group one Monday afternoon, under the brilliant tutoring of Open Age teacher and writer Mike Loveday. The front door is particularly symbolic of Open Age. This writing group is free and welcomes new members living in the London boroughs of Westminster and Kensington & Chelsea, and especially for people who are housebound or can’t always get out of the house, due to ill health or various other reasons.

I will be brave and get the blog started by posting the letter I wrote to my front door!   Hopefully it will inspire other Open Age members (and tutors!) to post and share some of their writing on this blog….

Dear Door,

As I walk up the steps to greet you from work each day, I turn my key in your lock and feel grateful that you always open up for me. One mustn’t grumble, but feel grateful to have a front door to open each night, and close each morning when they go to work. Many people do not have a door to open, like the homeless man who sleeps on a sheet of cardboard. Thank you for being such a great door. You are the dearest door I ever saw.

Yours,

Hester

