081176bce3782d7dcf227a72155e71bf

Thanks to Open Age member Kate Simpson for sharing another wonderful piece of her writing – this time something quite magical to reflect upon about ageing and youth…..

LONG LOST LADY

There was a time when I used to look in the mirror and a young girl stared back at me. I do wonder where she has gone. Is she hiding behind it? Or maybe she is in another mirror. One day I tried searching for her. I took down all the mirrors in the house examined them thoroughly but no sign. Where are you I cried? The silence haunted me like the ghost of a forgotten age. I moved the furniture looked under beds even in the garden shed. No sign. Finally I started to ask the meter reader, the postman. Who both looked at me rather strangely but said nothing. I rang my best friend and on my asking “have you seen the lady in the mirror?” She asked me if I had seen my doctor lately. I have to admit I was so affronted by this I slammed the phone down. Needless to say I had no intention of seeing anybody let alone a doctor. I became a recluse. I was too busy in my search to entertain visitors. Dust settled on the furniture except for the mirrors which were polished daily. In case a speck of dirt hid my long lost lady. Even eating became an unnecessary chore. Occasionally cold baked beans sufficed eaten straight from the can of course. Water straight from the tap (I was too busy in my quest to boil the kettle). So it was back to the mirror. This time I spoke to all of them in the house. I pleaded and pleaded. Where has she gone? Each day I repeated my question and continued to do so until I was old and blind. It was only then I looked and there she was. Young and beautiful once more.

© Kate Simpson

