An inspiring post in memory of the wonderful writer Sir Terry Pratchett..

RBKC Libraries blog

Terry-Pratchett-1 Sir Terry Pratchett 1948-2015

Katie Collis, Brompton Library, writes: Here at Brompton Library we thought it would be fitting to celebrate the life of Sir Terry Pratchett, whose books were loved by millions of people all over the world.

I asked the staff at Brompton which books they particularly liked and, not surprisingly, I had very different responses. 

Christian: “As a kid I loved comedy shows on TV, everything from Fry and Laurieto Red Dwarfand The Detectives but when it came to reading, I was only interested in dark horror books by Stephen King and James Herbert or science fiction comics. Terry Pratchett changed all of that for me.

When a friend introduced me to the Discworld novels I became addicted to the series, as it seemed to capture the kind of Monty Python humour that I loved, but in a fantasy novel setting. I really connected with the sarcasm and…

View original post 230 more words

